Sufjan Stevens Announces 20th Anniversary Reissue of Seven Swans

Photo of author


Sufjan Stevens has revealed plans for a special 20th anniversary deluxe edition of his fourth album, Seven Swans. The release is scheduled for June 21 and will be available through Asthmatic Kitty. The expanded edition of the album will feature bonus tracks “I Went Dancing With My Sister” and “Waste of What Your Kids Won’t Have” for the first time on the digital version. Various physical versions of Seven Swans (Deluxe Edition) will include silver and split-colored vinyl, a zoetrope picture disc, CD, and more. Check out the full tracklist below.

Seven Swans stands out in Stevens’ discography as a record he did not produce himself, instead collaborating with Daniel Smith, the leader of the folk collective Danielson Famile, to record the songs in Clarksboro, New Jersey. Smith also contributed backing vocals, drums, and keyboard on some of the tracks.

Stevens’ most recent album, Javelin, released last October, includes singles like “Will Anybody Ever Love Me?” and “So You Are Tired.” The album was dedicated to Stevens’ late partner, Evans Richardson IV, who passed away in April 2023. Stevens described Richardson as a remarkable person filled with life, love, and exceptional qualities.

After undergoing intensive treatment for Guillain-Barré syndrome last year, Stevens has been providing regular updates on his condition and treatment on his Tumblr page. Additionally, the dance-musical Illinoise, based on Stevens’ 2005 album Illinois and choreographed by Justin Peck, received several Tony Award nominations including Best Musical. On May 31, Nonesuch will digitally release the original cast recording of Illinoise.

To find out more about Javelin ranking at No. 6 on “The 50 Best Albums of 2023” and read about “Sufjan Stevens Is at His Intimate and Uplifting Best on Javelin,” click the links.

Pitchfork independently selects all products featured. However, we may earn an affiliate commission when you purchase through our retail links.

Sufjan Stevens: Seven Swans (Deluxe Edition)

Sufjan Stevens: Seven Swans (Deluxe Edition)

Seven Swans (Deluxe Edition):

01 All the Trees of the Field Will Clap Their Hands
02 The Dress Looks Nice on You
03 In the Devil’s Territory
04 To Be Alone with You
05 Abraham
06 Sister
07 Size Too Small
08 We Won’t Need Legs to Stand
09 A Good Man Is Hard to Find
10 He Woke Me Up Again
11 Seven Swans
12 The Transfiguration
13 I Went Dancing With My Sister (Bonus Track)
14 Waste of What Your Kids Won’t Have (Bonus Track)

Source link

Leave a Comment

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Share to...